Volkswagen Golf Bulb Size

2019 Volkswagen Golf ChartBulb Number
Headlight Bulb High Beam and Low Beam
Fog Light Bulb Front
Fog Light Bulb Front
Headlight Bulb High Beam
Fog Light Bulb Rear
Center High Mount Stop Light Bulb
Brake Light Bulb
License Plate Light Bulb
Parking Light Bulb
Tail Light Bulb
Daytime Running Light Bulb
Turn Signal Light Bulb Rear
Back Up Reverse Light Bulb
Turn Signal Light Bulb Front(with LED headlights)
Side Marker Light Bulb Rear
Stepwell Light Bulb
Turn Signal Light Bulb Front(with halogen headlights)
Cornering Light Bulb
Vanity Mirror Light Bulb
Glove Box Light Bulb
Trunk or Cargo Area Light
Trunk or Cargo Area Light
Map Light Bulb
Map Light Bulb
Interior Door Light Bulb
Reading Light Bulb Rear
Reading Light Bulb Rear

The Volkswagen Golf has been in production since 1974. It has been sold in different parts of the world under different names, such as the Volkswagen Caribe and Volkswagen Rabbit in Mexico and the United States respectively. The current model comes with Bi-Xenon (HID) headlights on more expensive trims and halogen headlights on lower trims. All models feature LED daytime running lights. 

Bulb type used

For models built between 1988 and 2011, the VW Golf uses the H7 bulb for the low beam and the H15 bulb for the high beam. The fog lamps use an HB4 (9006) bulb. 

Upgrading from factory bulbs to aftermarket LED/HID

The process of upgrading from your factory bulbs to aftermarket LEDs and HIDs is now easier. This is thanks to several kits that are available in the market today. They are designed in such a way that they can be easily installed by amateurs and non-mechanics. You can now upgrade your headlights on your own without having to go to a garage. It’s also possible to carry out the process safely and in under 30 minutes. 

Advantages of upgrading from halogen to LED/HID

  1. Longevity: HID and LED headlights last longer than halogen headlights. 
  2. Excellent light output: LED and HID lights produce better colors and more brightness. 
  3. Large light pattern: LEDs and HIDs produce a larger light spectrum making it easier to see the wider road when driving at night. 
  4. They also convert electricity to light more efficiently compared to halogen lights. 

How to choose the correct bulb size 

  • Refer to your factory bulbs

Your factory bulbs should have a part/size number indicated on them. Before replacing them with HID or LED bulbs, check for this number. The size you find indicated should be similar to that of the new bulbs you purchase. 

  • Call your manufacturer

Give your car manufacturer or car dealer a call if you’re having trouble finding the correct bulb size for your car. You may need to provide them with your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) for them to retrieve the information. 

  • Vehicle handbook

Each car bulb has a different fitting. This is especially where different bulbs are being changed at the same time. To determine the correct size of your bulbs, take a look at your vehicle handbook. It will provide unique codes for each bulb that will guide you when replacing your old bulbs. 

  • Online Search

You can run a quick check with the help of our VW Golf light bulb replacement chart to determine the correct bulb size for your HID or LED headlights. Just pick your car’s model year to help generate the results. 

Installing new bulbs

  1. Open the hood of your VW Golf. 
  2. Remove the rubber cap located behind the headlight assembly. 
  3. Twist the bulb holder counterclockwise to remove the bulb. 
  4. Replace the old bulb with the new one. 
  5. Reinstall the bulb holder into the headlight assembly. 
  6. Put the rubber cap back in place. 
  7. Test your headlights to see if they work. 

Additional equipment

  1. Gloves to prevent touching the bulbs with your bare fingers. 

Q&A Section

What is an H7 headlight bulb? 

The H7 bulb is a high-intensity discharge halogen bulb that is used either for the high beam headlight or the low beam headlight. It emits extremely bright light. 


  • Seventh generation (MK7/MQB, Typ 5G; 2012–present)
  • Sixth generation (MK6/A6, Typ 5K; 2008–2012)
  • Fifth generation (MK5/A5, Typ 1K; 2003–2008)
  • Fourth generation (MK4/A4, Typ 1J; 1997–2003)
  • Third generation (MK3/A3, Typ 1H/1E/1V; 1993–1998)
  • Second generation (MK2/A2, Typ 19E/1G; 1983–1992)
  • First generation (MK1/A1, Typ 17; 1974–1983)




Related Cars

Volkswagen GTI, Mazda Mazda3, Honda Civic, Toyota Corolla, Hyundai Veloster, Chevrolet Cruze, Hyundai Elantra, Kia Forte , Subaru Impreza, Volkswagen Jetta, Subaru WRX, Nissan Sentra

Leave a Comment